All I’m Grateful For……..

thanksgiving, snoopy, peanuts

There’s a wealth of things I’m grateful for, particularly this year.  I mentioned some of them in my last post on gratitude, but now I’d like to cover others, though there may be a little overlap.  For instance, today, I did my longest walk ever, since getting out of the wheelchair.  I did a 5 mile fundraiser.  I am so grateful to be able to do these!

I’m just going to list here the rest of the things I’m grateful for, and I’ll do this periodically through the year.  Being grateful is a daily thing for me.  Admittedly, I have days when I find it challenging to feel that way.  At this point in my life though, my grateful days far outnumber those less so.  Here’s what I’m feeling thankful for today:

  • God—for without Him, my ship would be sunk.
  • Fall leaves in their brilliant colors, dancing around in the air.   fall leaves, splendor, color, trees
  • Stormy afternoons watching the elements change the sky in exciting displays.
  • Hot flavorful teas warming me to my core.
  • Memories of raking leaves, running, and jumping in them with reckless abandon.
  •  Thanksgiving traditions—having relatives and friends over; remembering helping to cook the feast, and running in to watch the Macy’s parade in between tasks; and putting olives on each of our fingers, and eating them off one at a time.

hunger, nourishment, freedom, gratitude

  • That I know how fortunate I am to have the funds to put turkey and all the trimmings on my table, and the ability to cook it all myself; and how blessed I am that I can feed myself every day of the year and help others.
  • That I have a sister, special cousins, and an aunt who are squarely in my corner, and who love me!
  • Having a husband-type and a beloved dog to share my home and my holidays, giving me laughs on a daily basis, love me and get love from me.
  • The gift of many wonderful friends online and off!
  • My renewed health.
  • Getting into a size 14 for the first time since high school!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Learning a ton of new things in social media to help me market my book.
  • Being alive!
  • Music to make my heart sing.
  • Getting off pain meds for the first time in close to a decade, completely.
  • A brighter future.
  • The presidential win!
  • My friend Mary’s remission from cancer continues.
  • Incredible therapists who helped me get well for a long time, one of whom did so for a decade without pay!  She’s my angel, though now I have more than one of these I dub “earth angels.”

I’m sure if I sit here long enough, I can make this list so much longer, but I figure you all get the point.  I encourage you to make your own list of what you’re grateful for, help your kids make their lists, and read all of these at your Thanksgiving feast.  These lists will not only help you and your family feel connected to all their blessings, when they hear what you’re grateful for, they will feel closer to you as a person too, and know you more fully.  Have a fabulous day of thanks!  Refer to your list any day you find difficult, and it will likely put things in perspective.

Gratefully yours!

Adriana

author, regular gal, portland, saturday market

2 thoughts on “All I’m Grateful For……..

  1. It is so important to be grateful for the big but especially the small things we are blessed every day. Few people are. And yet this is the key to living an abundant life. Loved this post.

    • Hi! Thank you for your feedback on my post. That was so nice! I know how important it is to be grateful. I lived in hell too long, so everything outside of that is incredible! I think people who don’t experience gratitude have either had it cushy too long, and then expect it to stay that way; OR they had it bad so long they forget how to hope life can be better, and don’t see the wonderful things that happen because their views are stuck on the way it was instead of how it is now. I also think that those who don’t believe in God aren’t connected as much to the need for gratitude. They simply float along with life’s currents and tides, tossed to and fro by what IS, and don’t know what it can be with just an attitude adjustment. Anyhow, have a lovely evening, and happy Thanksgiving, if you celebrate it.

Leave a Reply

